Attendance Procedures

Regular attendance by students in all of their classes enhances their performance and contributes substantially to their rate of progress. While at school, students have a right to an education; they also have a responsibility to attend classes regularly and pursue their studies in a diligent manner. Every student will attend regularly and punctually throughout the school year unless excused from doing so.

Absences
Each absence will be considered excused or unexcused. Examples of an excused absence are an absence due to a personal illness, serious illness in the family, death in the family, medical or dental appointments.

A note from a parent/guardian is required for all absences. Parents/Guardians can:
            • email the school sarhs@cisdv.bc.ca and teachers if your child will be absent.
               Email addresses for teachers can be found on the list below or on the school                         website www.standrewshigh.ca
OR
            • call the school directly 250-479-1414. The school answering machine is checked                     daily.

If a child is marked absent after morning attendance is taken, and the school has not received notification, a phone call is made to parents/guardians to confirm that their child is safe at home.

The Ministry of Education reduces our funding for children who have missed a significant amount of school. If you will be away for extended unexcused absences and this reduces your child’s grant, you may be required to pay the difference.  In accordance with Island Catholic Schools policy, parents or guardians of students absent without excuse may be required to re- imburse the school if the provincial funding for the student is reduced as a result of high absenteeism.

Missed School Work

Students and/or Parents/Guardians are responsible to check with teachers regarding work that is missed. Parents/Guardians should contact teachers directly if a student will be away for an extended period of time so that arrangements can be made for schoolwork. Students are responsible to promptly make up any missed work.

Late Arrivals/Early Departures

Students who arrive after 8:30 am must be signed in at the office by Parent/Guardian and receive an Attendance Slip from the office. A logbook is kept in the office. A note must accompany the student if Parents/Guardians have not already notified the teacher or office.

Students who are departing the school prior to the 3:05 pm dismissal must be signed out by a Parent/Guardian at the office. A note must accompany the student if Parents/Guardians have not already notified the teacher or office.

St. Andrew’s High School Contact Information 2013-2014
880 McKenzie Ave
Victoria, BC V8X 3G5
TEL. 250-479-1414
FAX 250-479-5356
EMAIL sarhs@cisdv.bc.ca

Principal:         Andrew Keleher akeleher@cisdv.bc.ca 

Vice Principal:  Diane Chimich dchimich@cisdv.bc.ca

TEACHING STAFF
Anderson, Dean Teacher                                             danderson@cisdv.bc.ca
Angrove, Laura Teacher                                              langrove@cisdv.bc.ca
Arthurs, Kim Teacher                                                  karthurs@cisdv.bc.ca
Ballam, Corinne Teacher                                             cballam@cisdv.bc.ca
Ballam, Doug Teacher                                                 dballam@cisdv.bc.ca
Bella, Brenda Special Ed. Cor.                                     bbella@cisdv.bc.ca
Brock, Danny Teacher                                                 dbrock@cisdv.bc.ca 
Cristante, Mark Teacher                                              mcristante@cisdv.bc.ca
Goldsack, Sue Teacher                                                sgoldsack@cisdv.bc.ca
Gubbels, Peter Teacher                                               pgubbels@cisdv.bc.ca
Hudson, Steven Teacher                                              shudson@cisdv.bc.ca
Ingraham, Annie Teacher                                             aingraham@cisdv.bc.ca
Kearsey, Mary Teacher                                                mkearsey@cisdv.bc.ca 
McDonnell, Marine Counselor                                        mmcdonnell@cisdv.bc.ca
Mennie, John Teacher                                                 jmennie@cisdv.bc.ca
Munzer, Erich Teacher                                                emunzer@cisdv.bc.ca
Muscat-Tyler, Wendy Teacher                                      wtyler@cisdv.bc.ca
Nishi, Brian Teacher                                                    bnishi@cisdv.bc.ca 
O'Reilly, Philip Teacher/Music Dir.                                poreilly@cisdv.bc.ca
Paul, Karin Librarian/Teacher                                       kpaul@cisdv.bc.ca
Sanders, Michele Teacher/Dh.English                            msanderson@cisdv.bc.ca
Spanier, Marianne Teacher                                           mspanier@cisdv.bc.ca
Taft, Tanya Teacher/Dh. Science & Math                      ttaft@cisdv.bc.ca
Zawacki, Alia Teacher/Dh.Humanities/Athlectic Dir.      azawacki@cisdv.bc.ca

 

Testimonials
This is how I explain what religion at this school teaches me. Sure I learn the history and analyze the Bible, but I also have been forming a set of morals and values that will go with me for the rest of my life. They are the foundation of who I am.
Breanna Student
I am very excited to be able to link my Olympic journey, full of trials and tribulations, back to a very important time and place in my life: St. Andrew's Regional High School.
Dave Calder Alumnus
I feel truly blessed to have had the privilege of attending St. Andrew’s Regional High School. St. Andrew’s has given me the opportunity to grow spiritually, academically, artistically, and athletically.
Nick Student